In Weakening Moment

14291788_10207200306949297_8136334977630984398_n

I am sad that my only sadness is caused by other people’s hopes and expectations of how my life should or could be. The potential they see, the drive and thrive that once lived inside me, somehow time has washed them away, slowly fading like traces of the ocean waves receding from the shore.

I look around me. I see a pool of people who have lived and celebrated life. I smile in yearning and utmost desperation for some sort of resolution. When I searched long and hard in every shadowed corner of my being, all I could see was emptiness, despair, and hopelessness that lurked beneath the hopeful and ambitious soul.

This self-sabotaging labyrinth is a dangerous mind game I’m entering. I know my way around it but somehow I can never find my way out.

 

 

Photo Credit: Moonhee Han

Leave a Reply

