NZ17 – Day 14/30

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Day 14/30

Another flight to catch. This time I’m off to the cafe capital of New Zealand – windy/hilly Wellington. I spent 4 years here when I was at Massey studying Visual Communication Design. There’s definitely a level of attachment to the place. I was anxious to see how the city copes after the earthquake. I hoped against hope that it will not be too different from how I remembered it.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Arrived at Trinity hotel in town by shuttle bus late in the afternoon. The view on the way from the airport to Wellington central looked pretty much the same. Thank goodness for that. After seeing the drastic change in Christchurch, I don’t think I could handle another one in Wellington.

Processed with VSCO with f1 presetProcessed with VSCO with f1 preset

Excited and curious to see how the city stands after the earthquake, I took a walk down familiar routes around the city central. Overall, the city feels the same. There were some changes to the shops and buildings here and there, but nothing too extreme. I still recognised the city the way I’d left it years ago.

Processed with VSCO with q1 presetProcessed with VSCO with c1 presetProcessed with VSCO with q1 presetProcessed with VSCO with q1 presetProcessed with VSCO with k2 presetProcessed with VSCO with q1 presetProcessed with VSCO with q1 presetProcessed with VSCO with q1 presetProcessed with VSCO with q1 presetProcessed with VSCO with q1 preset

I didn’t feel too lost and disoriented like I was in Christchurch. And I was beyond stoke to find me and my chum’s usual spot for Korean food is still open! I couldn’t head there fast enough for some Sundubu Jigae (Tofu Soup). I also craved for some Indian butter chicken with naan bread too! But the Indian restaurant we often frequented had moved. (later I found out that it moved to this new foodcourt on Willis street just opposite of my hotel)

Processed with VSCO with q1 presetProcessed with VSCO with q1 presetProcessed with VSCO with q1 preset

Processed with VSCO with q1 preset
Sundubu Jigae

วันนี้ออกบินสู่สุนทรีย์แห่งชีวิตคนเมืองอีกครั้ง กลับบ้านเก่าที่ 2 เมืองหลวง Wellington เมืองแห่งภูเขาและลมพัดแรงระดับปลิวได้ จุดรวมคาเฟ่เกร๋ไกร๋ และแหล่งสุมของมนุษย์รักศิลปะจากหลากหลายแขนง

เป็นอีกครั้งที่รู้สึกเหมือนได้กลับบ้านที่จากมานาน เมืองเปลี่ยนไปไม่มาก ยังคุ้นตากับร้านค้าและร้านอาหารที่เคยชอบไปกกดาน รู้สึกได้ว่าคนที่นี่แต่งตัวมีสไตล์ดีกว่าที่อื่น 555 หรืออาจจะลำเอียง

ผ่านไป 2 อาทิตย์แล้ว เร็วจัง…กำลังลุ้นว่าตังค์จะพอใช้มั้ยน้า เหลือไม่เยอะแล้ว T^T นี่ยังไม่ได้ซื้อของฝากเลยนะ และยังต้องอยู่อีก 16 วัน ฮืออออ กลับไทยไปไถนายาวๆเลย

ร้าน ajumma ยังอยู่ หนูกรี๊ดมากกก พุ่งตัวไปสั่ง sundubu jigae ยังอร่อยเหมือนเดิม (คาดว่าทริปนี้คงฝากท้องกับป้านี่แหล่ะ วันละเมนู) ร้านเครปฝรั่งเศสก็ยังอยู่ ร้านอินเดียก็อยู่ จะกินให้หายอยากกกกก (วันละอย่างพอ เดี๋ยวเงินหมด) มีความสุขมาก อยากย้ายกลับมาอยู่ที่นี่


 

.m.

Leave a Reply

